The tooth saga….an update.

Yep the tooth saga seems never-ending.

I want to be able to smile without feeling embarrassed, it’s lovely how I’ve noticed that I smile a lot, instinctively but it’s awful how I hold it back more and more.

After having to come back from Spain to have a baby tooth out in January I have been planning to get back to the trails and start again next month, April.

Over the course of the last few weeks I have been having increased ache/pain in my mouth around the area that the baby tooth was removed.

Previously my dentist had said that I had an adult tooth above which I knew about anyway but it’d never shown signs of wanting to actually be where it should so I’d never worried about it.

Until the baby tooth had to come out.

It’s been 3 months to the day that I had the baby tooth out and today I went back due to the aforementioned ache I am getting.

X-ray done, he confirmed the adult tooth is now on the move, sadly however it is not going in the right direction. It is pushing onto the tooth next to it, the ache  is due to movement but also pressure.

He’s referring me to the Maxiofacial department at the local hospital…..this will take 2 to 3 months.

I will have to have the adult tooth, that is now coming down incorrectly out, it’s unlikely the Orthodontic team would want to use that adult canine tooth.

It may be that I will also have to have the tooth (incisor) that is being pushed onto out also.

This will leave me with two gaps from my front teeth, the left canine and lateral incisor

The possibility is to have two implants fitted, bridges are not a viable option due impart to the nature of the teeth and the load they take and also that I over-bite slightly.

I could go private, have that time reduced, tooth/teeth taken out and a nice pair of implants put in, but this will cost in excess of £4000.

NHS would be about half of that but a far longer wait.

So the reason I say all this, one for your information but also it means that Spain trip is being put on hold until this is sorted out. My money is being spent on my mouth.

Of course I am hoping that I will be able to go sooner as opposed to later, for now though I will aim for September with the vain hope I have brilliant and amazing set of teeth by then and I can smile with utter confidence again.

teeth-names-positioning-diagram

Author: Gabrielle

Love the outdoors.

Leave a Reply

